New Books in Foley Library

Lasting over 120 years, the Arab-Israeli conflict involves divergent narratives about history, national identities, land ownership, injustices and victimhood. Domestic forces and actors as well as international and regional dynamics have ensured the conflict's durability. A distinguished team of authors comprising an Israeli, a Palestinian and an Egyptian present a broader Arab perspective in this innovative textbook that offers a balanced and nuanced introduction to a highly contentious subject. Providing an overview of key developments in the history of the conflict, it explores attempts at resolution, before going on to portray the perspectives of the important parties. It places the events of the conflict within a regional and international context, providing an invaluable insight into the opposing narratives behind the conflict. The much-anticipated second edition of Arabs and Israelis includes: - Up-to-date coverage of key developments since the Arab Awakening, including the shifting pattern in relations from Obama to Trump, the Abraham Accords, the fall of Netanyahu and the resurgence of the war in early 2021. - Brand new 'Key Developments', 'Key Documents' and 'Key Figures' feature boxes to help students zoom in on landmark events, policies and actors throughout history. - Detailed full colour maps, timelines and photos to visually complement the text. - A rich companion website including interactive timelines and maps, discussion questions, chapter summaries and more. A comprehensive and engaging account of the Arab-Israeli conflict, it is the ideal companion for students at undergraduate and postgraduate level taking History, Politics and Middle Eastern Studies degrees.

Course Design for TESOL offers a unique approach of integrating curriculum with teaching activities to allow language educators to utilize the text in a variety of courses in a TESOL program. Although the authors assume readers have a basic knowledge of English grammar, this textbook/resource is designed to be comprehensible to those who have not had an SLA or Applied Linguistics course. Because each language skill is discussed in detail in terms of important theories and concepts and actual teaching activities are included, the book can also be used in a Methods course or a combined Curriculum Design-Methods (or Methods and Materials) course.   Part I explores the basic language acquisition theories and their influences on current teaching practices in the field. Part II then moves on to the core elements of designing a curriculum or course: conducting the needs analysis, setting of course goals/objectives, designing the syllabus, and writing lesson plans.   Part III: Instructional Activities and Assessment Techniques features chapters on the teaching of listening, speaking, reading, writing, grammar, and culture. Within each of these chapters, the authors address the fundamental issues related to the teaching of each skill and then discuss the components of a good activity for that skill (and how to design one), and then offer four sample activities (one for each type of syllabus) and guidance on assessing that skill. The activities can be adapted for use in a variety of classrooms and settings.   Part IV addresses contemporary trends--curriculum issues in North America and Europe (standards and educational policy), practices in teaching in Asia (particularly China and Korea), and technology-enhanced learning. 

Teachers struggle every day to bring quality instruction to their students. Beset by lists of content standards and accompanying ""high-stakes"" accountability tests, many educators sense that both teaching and learning have been redirected in ways that are potentially impoverishing for those who teach and those who learn. Educators need a model that acknowledges the centrality of standards but also ensures that students truly understand content and can apply it in meaningful ways. For many educators, Understanding by Design addresses that need. Simultaneously, teachers find it increasingly difficult to ignore the diversity of the learners who populate their classrooms. Few teachers find their work effective or satisfying when they simply ""serve up"" a curriculum-even an elegant one-to students with no regard for their varied learning needs. For many educators, Differentiated Instruction offers a framework for addressing learner variance as a critical component of instructional planning. In this book the two models converge, providing readers fresh perspectives on two of the greatest contemporary challenges for educators: crafting powerful curriculum in a standards-dominated era and ensuring academic success for the full spectrum of learners. Each model strengthens the other. Understanding by Design is predominantly a curriculum design model that focuses on what we teach. Differentiated Instruction focuses on whom we teach, where we teach, and how we teach. Carol Ann Tomlinson and Jay McTighe show you how to use the principles of backward design and differentiation together to craft lesson plans that will teach essential knowledge and skills for the full spectrum of learners. Connecting content and kids in meaningful ways is what teachers strive to do every day. In tandem, UbD and DI help educators meet that goal by providing structures, tools, and guidance for developing curriculum and instruction that bring to students the best of what we know about effective teaching and learning.

This volume presents new research in social ontology by focusing on questions related to the characteristics, categories, and conceptual methodologies surrounding social identities. The essays engage with issues pertaining to a broad range of identities, including class, sexuality, gender, race, ethnicity, and religious identity.

In The Politics of Collecting, Eunsong Kim traces how racial capitalism and colonialism situated the rise of US museum collections and conceptual art forms. Investigating historical legal and property claims, she argues that regimes of expropriation--rather than merit or good taste--are responsible for popular ideas of formal innovation and artistic genius. In doing so, she details how Marcel Duchamp's canonization has more to do with his patron's donations to museums than it does the quality of Duchamp's work, and she uncovers the racialized and financialized logic behind the Archive of New Poetry's collecting practices. Ranging from the conception of philanthropy devised by the robber barons of the late nineteenth century to ongoing digitization projects, Kim provides a new history of contemporary art that accounts for the complicated entanglement of race, capital, and labor behind storied art institutions and artists. Drawing on history, theory, and economics, Kim challenges received notions of artistic success and talent and calls for a new vision of art beyond the cultural institution.

"Written in clear and engaging prose, . . . Reading the Gospels walks the fine line between opening the Gospels to the reader without supplanting the Gospels or competing with them. . . . It invites readers into the activity of reading and thinking about the Gospels in conversation with others. The text articulates a Christian and Catholic understanding of the Gospels in ways that allow both Christians and non-Christians to participate in the conversation." --David A. Bosworth, The Catholic University of America In Reading the Gospels, Christopher McMahon provides teachers and students with the tools to bring the study of the Gospels to life. McMahon's approach to the text utilizes the historical-critical method, one viewed by the Pontifical Biblical Commission as "the indispensable method for the scientific study of the meaning of ancient texts." Full of pedagogical tools that will aid the professor and help the students to proactively engage in scriptural analysis themselves, Reading the Gospels includes: * Introductory historical chapters that contextualize for the student the circumstances in which the Gospels were born * Detailed analyses of Gospel passages, from a historical and literary perspective * Alternative interpretations of the Gospel texts for students to consider * "Questions for Understanding" and "Questions for Reflection" at the end of each chapter * Ample endnotes for orientation and brief bibliographies for further research A basic introduction to the canonical Gospels and the issues related to their interpretation, Reading the Gospels will engage students in the kind of detailed analysis necessary for the success of their own future research and scholarly work. Christopher McMahon is associate professor of theology at Saint Vincent College. He is the author of Called Together: An Introduction to Ecclesiology (2010) and Jesus Our Salvation: An Introduction to Christology (2007), both published by Anselm Academic.

Voters need information about the qualities of candidates, the policies they propose and the partisan labels they wear. Does our Electoral College encourage the most qualified candidates to run? Does it force them to talk candidly with the American people? Will election results accurately reflect the needs of the population as a whole? Wayne's The Road to the White House 2024 answers these questions in a straightforward, jargon-free manner. Equipping you with a background on presidential elections and a guide to the 2024 election, it illustrates the strengths and weaknesses of our electoral democracy. It also offers insights on changes that have revolutionized contemporary electoral politics: the flood of money, the ideological polarization of American parties, the digital revolution, foreign interference, voter eligibility, the integrity of the voting process itself and much more.

The first anthology to focus exclusively on queer readings of Spanish, Latin American, and US Latina lesbian literature and culture, Tortilleras interrogates issues of gender, national identity, race, ethnicity, and class to show the impossibility of projecting a singular Hispanic or Latina Lesbian. Examining carefully the works of a range of lesbian writers and performance artists, including Carmelita Tropicana and Christina Peri Rossi, among others, the contributors create a picture of the complicated and multi-textured contributions of Latina and Hispanic lesbians to literature and culture. More than simply describing this sphere of creativity, the contributors also recover from history the long, veiled existence of this world, exposing its roots, its impact on lesbian culture, and, making the power of lesbian performance and literature visible.